USTA Serves is the National Charitable Foundation of the USTA.  It is a not-for-profit organization that is dedicated to improving the quality of life among our nation’s youth.  USTA Serves mission is to support, monitor and promote programs that enhance the lives of underserved youth through the integration of tennis and education.  A goal of USTA Serves is to encourage children to pursue their goals and highest dreams by succeeding in school and becoming responsible citizens.

Scholarships Offered

Each year, USTA Serves awards scholarships to deserving youngsters who have participated in United States Tennis Association (USTA) and/or other organized youth tennis programs.  The following scholarships are offered:

  • The Marian Wood Baird College Scholarship
  • The Dwight F. Davis Memorial Scholarship
  • The Dwight Mosley Scholarship Award
  • The USTA Serves College Education Scholarship
  • The Eve Kraft Education & College Scholarship
  • The USTA Serves College Textbook Scholarship
  • The USTA Serves Summer of Service

USTA Rhode Island Judy Brucks Memorial Scholarship

Open to ANY Rhode Island High School tennis player. You may be a varsity or junior varsity player to apply. We award 1 boys scholarship each spring and 1 girls scholarship each fall at the respective tennis banquets. If you are a GIRL playing on a BOYS team, you would still apply for the GIRLS scholarship in the fall.


Download (PDF): RIScholarship

Scholarship Donations are both Welcome and Appreciated!

Make Checks Payable to: USTA Rhode Island/Judy Brucks Memorial Scholarship
Mailed to: PO Box 462, Greenville, Rhode Island 02828

Judy Anne (Troll) Brucks: 1957 – 2008
Nurse Practitioner and Competitive Tennis Player

Judy Anne (Troll) Brucks, 51, of Taylor Road, Foxboro, died on Monday, November 3, 2008 at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston following a brief illness. She was the wife of Jonathan L. Brucks, founder and president of New Age Technologies, Inc. in Attleboro, to whom she was married on February 14, 1991.

Born in Warwick, Rhode Island on July 25, 1957, she was the daughter of Joseph and Yolanda “Lonnie” (Ventura) Troll both of Hadley Massachusetts. She resided in Foxboro since 1991, previously resided in the West Roxbury section of Boston and was raised and educated in Hadley where she was a graduate of Hopkins Academy.

Her passions extended well beyond her professional life and most notably encompassed gourmet cooking, quilting, reading, boating and most importantly competitive tennis. She was a phenomenal captain of six competitive tennis teams with two of the teams reaching the sectionals for the North East USTA and earned second place.

Her love of tennis and her devotion to her team is best expressed in a quote by one of her teammates: “Before Judy, it was just tennis. But after she brought us all together and formed a team, it became a truly significant part of our lives.”

She will be remembered as intelligent, caring and generous person, who was dearly loved by her family and friends whom will miss her greatly.

A leader in the community and the nucleus of her loving family, in addition to her husband of 17 years and her parents, she leaves two daughters: Kaitlyn E. Palmer of East Hampton, Massachusetts and Natalee J. Brucks at home in Foxboro; a sister: Diane Snow of The Villages, Florida and several extended family members, numerous friends and cherished colleagues.

Scholarship Winners

School Year Boy’s Scholarship Girl’s Scholarship
2006/2007 Jonathan Burke
South Kingstown HS: $500
Elizabeth Harrington
Westerly HS: $500
2007/2008 Aaron Carey
South Kingstown HS: $500
Missy Ferry
Mt St Charles Academy: $500
2008/2009 Timothy Ryan
Narragansett HS: $1,000
Emily Pietrzak
Narragansett HS: $1,000
2009/2010 Andrew Shumate
South Kingstown HS; $1,000
Taylor McEldowney
Mt St Charles Academy: $1,000
2010/2011 Kyle Abbate
Cumberland HS: $1,000
Julia Chretian
Coventry HS: $1,000
2011/2012 Tim Puterio
South Kingstown HS: $1,000
Mary-Catherine Stockman
Prout HS: $1,000
2012/2013 Michael Paiva
Smithfield HS: $1,000
Amanda Pitocco
LaSalle HS: $1,000
2013/2014 Eugene Fachon
East Greenwich HS: $1,000
Evelyn Miller
Smithfield HS: $1,000
2014/2015 Nick Lecours
Chariho HS: $1,000
Gabrielle LaFond
North Smithfield HS: $1,000
2015/2016 Justin Jackson
Saint Raphael Academy: $1,000
Alyssa Fletcher
Saint Raphael Academy: $1,000
2016/2017 Luke Eller
East Greenwich HS: $1,000
Sydney Cardoza
Coventry HS: $1,000
2017/2018 Steven Hey
Lasalle Academy: $1,000
Lauren Fortier
Smithfield HS: $1,000


Taylor McEldowney – Mt St. Charles Academy ’09/’10

Elizabeth Harrington – Westerly High School & Jonathan Burke South Kingstown High School ’06/’07

Lauren Fortier – Smithfield High School ’17/’18

Justin Jackson – St. Raphael’s Academy ’15/’16

Luke Eller – East Greenwich High School ’16/’17

Eugene Fachon – East Greenwich High School ’13/’14